top of page

Soulstice - Mini Review - Xbox Series X/S

Soulstice, from developer Reply Game Studios and publisher Modus Games is a fantasy action game that reminds us very much of the Devil May Cry series in how it plays, filled with over the top action, lots of monsters to fight and its dark moody presentation. It sort of slipped out under everyones radars recently so lets take a look and see if its worth your time!

The Story: The balance of the Holy Kingdom of Keidas is compromised when powerful, feral creatures known as “Wraiths” invade from the other side of the Veil, threatening to consume the living. Wraiths corrupt their victims and can even possess their bodies, turning into unstoppable monsters that prey upon the common folk. The “Chimeras”, hybrid warriors born of the union of two souls, are the only ones who can protect humankind. Briar and Lute are two sisters who have been reborn as a Chimera. The transformation has granted Briar superhuman strength and resilience, while Lute, sacrificed to bind her soul to her sister’s, has become a shade with mystical powers. Voiced by Stefanie Joosten (Metal Gear Solid 5), Briar and Lute are sent on a mission to reclaim a city in ruins that has been ravaged by the Wraiths, only to discover that the Order they belong to has a far more complex plan in mind.

Explore a dark world brimming with hidden mysteries, master a diverse combat system, and inhabit the dual forces of two sisters in a coming-of-age dark fantasy story with fast-paced action, vicious enemies, and spectacular boss fights.


  • Fight in Synergy - Manage sisters Briar and Lute simultaneously. Master melee attacks and combos as Briar and take control of the battlefield with otherworldly abilities as Lute. Combine their strengths to unlock powerful, transformational abilities and tap into their true potential as Chimera.

  • Explore a City in Ruin - A Tear in the Sky has opened above the once-holy city of Ilden. As Briar and Lute fight to reach the Tear, they’ll face challenging puzzles and unveil secrets of the Order while their surroundings become more hostile and twisted.

  • Customize Weapons and Abilities - Weapons are unlocked and upgraded throughout the game and can even be switched on the fly to unleash stylish and highly devastating combo attacks.

  • Battle Different Enemy Classes - A vile mix of Wraiths, Corrupted and Possessed, have poured into the world from beyond the Veil. Utilize Lute’s unique auras to expose or weaken these creatures and adapt to a flow of battle that never feels the same.

  • Learn the Truth of Your Origin - Through a dark story filled with sisterly love and sacrifice, Briar and Lute discover the truth about themselves and their Chimera powers while working together and staying true to their unbreakable bond.

Our Thoughts:

Honestly this game hasn't gotten the recognition it deserves! It really reminds me of playing the earlier Devil May Cry games back on the PS2 but it looks great with its fantastic dark art style and sound design. Building combos during its hack and slash combat is super satisfying and deep. The story is really strong too, with the bond of the two sisters working together and aiding each other in combat with you mainly playing as Briar and her shade-like sister Lute accompanying you around the levels. There's alot of content to be found too, with almost 20 hours needed to get through the main story and you will be pushing 40 hours to get the full completion too! The game isn't perfect though, at times the camera can be pretty erratic and be more of a challenge than the enemies themselves and the voice acting, while not bad, is nothing to write home about.

If your a fan of games like Devil May Cry and Bayonetta then this is a game you will really enjoy. While it doesn't match the highs of those series its still a fantastic game full of enjoyable combat with a really nice art style. It definitely plays like a previous gen or two ago game but with a shiny coat of paint, and that works for it to bring you a fun experience! Total Score: 7.5/10

Soulstice was released on the 20th September 2022. It's playable on Xbox Series X/S consoles and is priced at £34.99. The game can be purchased HERE. A copy of the game was provided for this review. A big thanks for that!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page